Who will win the World Cup Final?

With a tense three-wicket triumph over Kenya, Scotland have qualified for the 2015 Cricket World Cup in Australia. Pursuing 261 to win, Scotland regain 169 for six to win the qualifier, with three balls spare in New Zealand. Scotland finished second in the Super Six qualifying table with the win against Kenya, putting them behind the United Arab Emirates.

The Grande, Scotland Cricket ground, Edinburgh
The Grange, Scotland Cricket ground, Edinburgh

In 2010, Scotland took part in the Clydesdale Bank 40. They participated in the qualifiers in the United Arab Emirates to compete for a position in the 2010 ICC World Twenty20 that was held in the West Indies. The tournament was disappointing for Scotland, not winning a single match against Canada, Ireland, UAE, Netherlands, Afghanistan, Kenya or USA. The winner of the 2010 ICC World Twenty20 tournament was England, who defeated Australia in the final. Kevin Pietersen got player of the match.

Kenya was elected to bat first after winning the toss. After the 10 overs, Alex Obanda and Irfan Karim took the score to 55/0 when they started their innings with confidence. Scotland made their breakthrough when Calum MacLeod outran Karim for 23, this before Preston Mommsen caught Aga 5 overs, this leaving Kenya on 93/2 in the 17th over.

Rob Taylor and Safyaan Sharif were left with the duty of leading Scotland to the Cricket World Cup, as closer near the end, Mommsen departed after making a brave 78 in the 46th over, caught by Patel off of Odoyo’s bowling, and Scotland still needed 35 from 25 deliveries. Taylor took the task of finding the boundary in the 47th and 48th overs – with only three overs left and 26 runs still needed – and this side by side with Sharif and some terrific running, left Scotland from the final six deliveries only looking for five runs. The batsmen darted through the needed runs, leaving three
deliveries remaining, taking Scotland into the Cricket World Cup.

So as you can see the players were challenged to accept pressure, and they were motivated because there was a lot riding on the competition. But they passed and should be pleased that their efforts paid off. This could be a development in the team and hoping it’s the start of something big. They are now looking forward to the final against United Arab Emirates on Saturday (1-2-14) which will dictate the winner of the 2013 Cricket World Cup Qualifier.

Get CONSETT MAGAZINE straight to your inbox.

* indicates required


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here